1. Home
  2. Country
  3. India (Bharat) Flag

India (Bharat) Flag Color Codes with HEX, RGB, CMYK & Pantone

  • Saffron: #FF671F
  • White: #FFFFFF
  • Green: #046A38
  • Navy Blue: #06038D

What are the colors of Indian flag?

The Indian flag has 4 primary colors, which are orange, white, green and blue. The table below has the common and popular codes of these colors in HEX, RGB and CMYK formats along with Pantone (PMS), RAL and NCS (Natural Color System). Please note that HEX and RGB codes are to be used for digital works and web pages (including HTML and CSS) while the CMYK values are for printers. The India (Bharat) flag is known as Tiranga.

The flag has three equal-sized horizontal stripes of saffron, white and green. A navy blue colored Ashok Chakra, which is a wheel with 24 spokes and also the Indian national symbol, is placed in the middle of the flag. The saffron color is locally known as kesari.

The flag of India was designed by Pingali Venkayya and is based on the Swaraj flag of the Indian National Congress. Adopted in its present form on 22 July 1947, just a few days before the independence of India from the British Raj. The Indian flag has to be made of khadi, a hands-spun fabric popularised by Mahatma Gandhi, the Father of the Nation. The use of khaki was actually a means to eschew use of fabric made or imported by the British during their rule in the subcontinent.

Originally, saffron, green and white colored stripes of the flag were representative of Hindus, Muslim and other communities, respectively. However, this symbolism was done away with and new meanings were assigned to the colors. Saffron stands for courage and sacrifice, white for peace and truth while green for faith and chivalry.

Color Names & Codes of the Indian Flag

Saffron - FF671F

Saffron Color Codes

Hex FF671F
RGB 255, 103, 31
CMYK 0, 60, 88, 0
Pantone 165 C
RAL 2008
White - FFFFFF

White Color Codes

RGB 255, 255, 255
CMYK 0, 0, 0, 0
Pantone White C
Green - 046A38

Green Color Codes

Hex 046A38
RGB 4, 106, 56
CMYK 96, 0, 47, 58
Pantone 2258 C
RAL 6029
Navy Blue - 06038D

Navy Blue Color Codes

Hex 06038D
RGB 6, 3, 141
CMYK 96, 98, 0, 45
Pantone 2735 C
RAL 5002

What is the meaning of colors in the India (Bharat) flag?

Orange, white, green and blue, the four colors in the Indian flag, stand for courage and sacrifice, peace and truth, faith and chivalry and belief in our strong heritage and culture, respectively. Also, specially in case of state flags, the meaning associated with the colors are generally endorsed by an official charter. However, at times the symbolism is simply understood by being descended from the culture of the land or has seeped so deeply into customs that, now, the two are inextricably linked. Please also note that there can be more than one meaning for the colors in the India (Bharat) flag.

India (Bharat) Flag Image with Color Palette

India (Bharat) Flag Color Palette

Download the Indian flag Color Palette image along with the color hex codes as a single image. These are the suggested colors to be used for digital media. For print and spot color values, please refer to the information above. The Pantone® (PMS) values and RAL.

Download Palette
  • Keshav Naidu July 13th, 2022

    Indian saffron color is also called as “kesari” !
    Jai Hind..